Both partners must be at least eighteen (18) years old and single to obtain a Florida marriage license. Both applicants must appear in person and provide a picture-type identification with the date of birth shown, such as a driver’s license, passport, or student ID. If either party was previously married, the applicant is required to indicate on the license application the date, county and state (or country) in which the divorce, dissolution or annulment was finalized for the previous marriage. The marriage license is issued at the time of application and is valid for 60 days. No blood tests are required in Florida and there is no waiting period between issuance of the license and the ceremony. The marriage license fee is $93.50 and must be paid in cash. The marriage license is issued by the Clerk of Courts in each County of Florida but can be used throughout the State of Florida.
A license obtained in a state other than Florida can not be used in the State of Florida!
ATTENTION: Residents of the State of Florida
Florida’s Marriage Preparation and Preservation Act is a law which offers a 37% discount on marriage license fees if the couple completes a four-hour preparation course. If the couple chooses not to complete the course, they will be required to wait three days before the marriage license will be valid by the Clerk of Courts.